Could you go without video for a week?

I’m in the process of investigating what TV addiction will mean in an Omnivideo world.

When you can watch what you want, when you want, where you want, certainly addiction will be easier to feed. But will it actually be worse? If the pitfalls of addiction include sitting numbly in front of the TV letting it wash over you, does it actually get worse or better when you can take a more active role?

So expect more from me in the coming weeks, including some notes with an interview with an academic who studies TV addiction. In the meantime, I hit up a friend of mine, Marketer and Social Media practitioner John Johansen of Austin, Texas, to see if he was up for an experiment: could he live for a week without a stitch of video? His answer: I can give it a try.

I was imagining he’d wait until after Thanksgiving, but not John, he jumped right in and started on Sunday. He has already blogged about it and it twittering using the Twitter hash tag #novideo. His early conclusion:

I am less than 24 hours into the trial and I’m reconsidering how simple this will really be.

Could you do this? Feel free to add to the conversation on his blog Original Comment, on my blog, or with your own twitter posts. I’ll summarize John’s experience and share with you my “how to tell if you’re an addict” quick quiz at the end of the week.

Good luck, John!

2 Responses to Could you go without video for a week?

  1. Thanks James. It’s really been eye-opening to see all of the ways video has infiltrated my life. While I knew that Thanksgiving week would be the hardest to quit video entirely, that’s also part of the reason I decided to do it. Without many of the other distractions of life, I was definitely feeling that ‘viewing time’ would go up this week.

    Creating that void really makes me look for other things to do.

  2. […] the past few weeks I have undertaken a few experiments on the question of TV addiction. As I’ve posted before, I asked a Web 2.0 marketer, John Johansen, to live without video for a week and blog about it. He […]

Leave a Reply

